A Raspberry Pi Electronics Experiment – TMP36 Temperature Sensor Trials and Failures

I mentioned in my last post that I had received a Raspberry Pi electronics starter kit from SK Pang Electronics as a gift for Christmas, and between studying for exams, I have been experimenting with the components in the kit. Apart from ensuring that the components I received actually work, I still haven’t got much past the “flashing LEDs in sequence” experiments. I think I need a few more components to really experiment properly – transistors, capacitors, et cetera – but I have had a bit of fun with the components that I did receive.

Not everything has been entirely fun, though. One component, the TMP36 temperature sensor which I received with the kit, led to a struggle for me to find out how it worked. On the face of it, this should be – and if you test it without the full circuit that I first tried it with, is – one of the easier components to deduce the operation of. My temperature sensor is in a three-pin TO-92 package, with one pin accepting an input voltage between 2.7 and 5.5V, another connecting to ground and a third which has a linear output voltage with 500mV representing 0ºC and a difference in voltage of 10mV for every degree Celsius up or down from 0ºC. So far, so simple. The problem is that I made things rather difficult for myself.

The Raspberry Pi, unlike a dedicated electronics-kit microcontroller like the Arduino platform, doesn’t have any analogue input or output. In order to get analogue input or output on a Raspberry Pi, you need either an analogue-to-digital converter for input or a digital-to-analogue converter for output. This wasn’t a big deal; both the MCP3002 ADC and the MCP4802 DAC came with the SK Pang starter kit and I had just successfully tested the 10kΩ Trimpot that came with the kit with the ADC. My self-inflicted problems occurred when I thought (ultimately correctly) that the three-pin package of the temperature sensor looked like it would be an adequate drop-in replacement for the Trimpot. So, I plugged in the temperature sensor based on the schematics in front of me and tried running the program to read in and translate the readings from the ADC.

As I started the program, I noted that I was getting a reading. So far, so good, I thought. Then, I decided to press on the temperature sensor to try adjusting the reading. At this moment, I noticed that the sensor was alarmingly hot. Disconnecting the sensor as quickly as I could reason, I thought to myself, “Oh crud, I’ve just ruined the sensor before I could even try it properly!” Taking action based on the directions given for TMP36 sensor use on the internet, I allowed the sensor to cool before plugging it back in – the right way around, this time – and tried the ADC translation program again.

I was still getting a reading, but this time, I was more wary; I did not know whether this signified that the correct reading was being read or not. With the aid of an Adafruit tutorial written precisely to aid people using the TMP36 with the Raspberry Pi, I decided to modify the ADC translation program to give converted values in the form of temperature readings. Another problem seemed to ensue – the readings I was being given were far too low for the room I was in. I attempted to find a solution on the internet, by reading forum posts, tutorials and datasheets, but little of this made sense to me.

Eventually, though, at least one of the sources gave me the idea to use a multimeter on the temperature sensor to test whether the output voltage on the middle pin was reasonable. I plugged the TMP36 directly into the 3.3V supply on the Raspberry Pi and tested the voltage over the input and output. It was showing as approximately 3.3V, so there wasn’t a short voltage on the temperature sensor itself. I then tested the output voltage on the middle pin, and this showed a reading much closer to the 20-22ºC I was expecting from my room at the time. As far as I could tell, the temperature sensor wasn’t damaged from the brief overheating that it had experienced. However, at this point, I had other things to do and had to leave my experimentation.

Eventually, though, I got back to experimenting with the TMP36 again, and tried plugging it into the ADC again. It was still giving the same low readings, and I still didn’t understand completely if the sensor, the ADC or the program I was running was at fault. I was at a loss to understand what was going on, so I shelved the temperature sensor experiments and tried understanding the code for the other components so that I could try my own experiments.

Some more looking on the internet pointed me more towards the answer I was looking for, though. The datasheet for the TMP36 suggests the use of a 0.1μF bypass capacitor on the input to smooth out the input voltage, but this didn’t really sound like the issue I was having – more it seemed like there was a low voltage going into the ADC. A forum post gave me an idea – try using a multimeter to test the voltage going across the TMP36 when it was plugged in with the ADC, and the output voltage from the sensor with the full circuit going. So, I did, and again, the temperature sensor had 3.3V going across it and about 740mV output voltage from the middle pin. I was perplexed, and tried testing the voltages across the ADC itself.

It was at this moment that one little sentence from the forum post gave me the answer – the problems with using the MCP3002 for reading in the voltage from the temperature sensor were linked to input impedance over the ADC rather than any problems with the temperature sensor. The ADC was working correctly in terms of reading in the value, and the temperature sensor was also working correctly, but because there was an impedance on the ADC – the voltage going across the ADC is 3.3V, but the voltage between the input pin and the channel read pin is, at least on my MCP3002, 2.58V – there were incorrect readings. A bit of modification to the ADC translation program, and I had the sort of readings that I expected both on the output voltage of the temperature sensor and the screen where the results were being printed.

Rather a long-winded set of tests for a simple problem, eh? I suppose much of the problem lies in my putting the cart before the horse and trying experiments with my only knowledge of electronics being my long-faded memories of secondary school physics. In any case, the problem was found, and a problem in my own lack of experience was also found, which I can start rectifying soon enough.

Leave a Reply

